Update

It’s been quite some time since my last update. Mom’s schedule was altered a bit due to scheduling conflicts and the weather (it snowed considerably since her 2nd round). Mom just completed her 3rd round of chemotherapy and we just got back in from Emory. She is hanging in there, but this last round has hit her hard. She’s terribly nauseated and has been unable to eat or drink anything substantial since being admitted on Tuesday. She’s really worn out physically and emotionally. She told me today that she came close to giving up today. I can’t imagine the hopelessness she must be experiencing at the moment. Please continue to pray for her. She’s not doing well.

We will return every day, beginning on Sunday, February 28th, for her growth shot. Her appointments are early in the morning (8:00am). I can take her Sunday and Tuesday, but we are once again in need of someone to take her the other days (Monday, Wednesday-Friday). If you can help us, we would greatly appreciate it. Again, if you are able to help any of these days, please send me an e-mail at jbh301@gmail.com, or give me a call on my cell (404.981.5853).

Here is an updated schedule for my mom’s treatment:
1. February 28-March 6: Growth shot at Emory.
2. March 8 (Monday): Harvesting of stem cells
3. Approximately 4-6 weeks following: Mom will return to the hospital for chemotherapy and the stem cell transplant. She will remain hospitalized for 3-5 weeks, and then will need to remain near the hospital for another 2 weeks for observation.

This is the plan right now. Everything, of course, is subject to change depending on my mom’s health, blood counts, etc. I will try to be more diligent in updating this blog with any changes. I am off Facebook until Easter, so please just check this site periodically, as I will not be posting updates to my Facebook account. Thank you.

Jacob

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment