Brief update

Hello all! It’s been quite some time since I’ve last provided an update on my folks. Much has transpired since the last update and I asked my Mom to bring you all up to speed on things. The following was written by her:

I am doing great! Getting my strength back, thyroid regulated and working to build up my muscles. I return to Emory in February for next CTScan and labs and the following week to see the doctor. I am cancer free, no longer have diabetes and my blood pressure has stablized. My right kidney is not functioning, but my left one is going strong. The only problem I have been having is with my eyes. They have a form of retinopathy that was originally caused by the diabetes, but now has flared and worsened due to radiation. I have had extensive laser surgery on both eyes which will hopefully help reduce the bleeding. My vision is still not the best, but I am able with some planning to lead worship for Church of the Holy Cross in Fayetteville, GA each Sunday. I know God has promised to totally heal them both.

John is hanging in there. He is singing more and more, sometimes we will hear him just singing all by himself. He is able to stretch his leg more and is able to follow the story line of movies and television shows like he has not been able to do before. He is also enjoying watching the baseball playoffs, the Georgia Bulldog football games and the Falcons each week. He watched some of the Ryder Cup matches and is more aware of all that is going on around him. This is something he has not done since last Thanksgiving when he was taken to the ER for severe infection. A case in point, a few weeks ago Josiah and I were going to my Mom’s house to get her car and meet my sister to go through the house. When we were leaving I went and told John to have him pray for us. He kept telling me No, not to go. Well, we had already arranged things to go, so we went. When I got back, the next morning I could not get out of bed, and was truly ill. God showed me what had happened, and I went and asked him to forgive me. He gave me quite a look, and forgave me and prayed for me. It has been a really long time since I knew he was covering me and I should stay under that covering.

Josiah has graduated high school with honors, and is currently working and preparing to enter college in January. He is helping coach Crosspointe Christian Academy’s football team. He turns 20 this week. My Mom gave him her car, so he now has his own transportation which has helped tremendously. He hopes to attend Macon State College and play football for them, but he could possibly attend Gordon College for his first two years. He also plays lead guitar for the worship team at Centerpoint Church near our home. He also plays for a worship band they have formed and have been recording some of their original music.

Hannah is busy with her 9th grade work and helping her Dad and Mom. She is really into clothes right now and was so blessed by a dear lady at CHC who gave her about 10 skirts, blouses, and other clothes. She has to model them all for her Dad! She has been able to babysit some and loves that.She will be teaching children’s church at Church of the Holy Cross each Sunday in November. She is learning to cook and makes the best pound cake of anyone in the family!

We are having to deal with my Mom’s things. She has been moved to an assisted living facility in Douglas, near my sister and is doing well. We have to clean out her house and get the property ready to sell. That is a major undertaking in itself. This also makes it difficult for us to go and see her. Being pulled in several directions, which means I really need to constantly know God’s direction, so much prayer is needed.

Elaine

This entry was posted in Bishop John, Elaine and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Brief update

  1. Dianne Monroe says:

    Bishop John and Elaine,
    I love and miss you all so much. My mother has had several issues but is still able to come visit for short visits. She has lost the vision in one eye but can see enough to read large print due to the shots she gets for macular degeneration. David and I are still working at different schools and we sure are looking forward to our break next month. Could we come see you then? If family will visit you that week, we’ll find a Saturday that works for you.
    You remain in our prayers. David sends his love also.

    Dianne

Leave a comment