July 2011 Update

Two months have passed since my last update. I apologize for this. I have been more than busy the past few weeks. The best way to update you all is to provide an individual update on each family member.

Dad: Dad’s health is holding steady. He has had some intermittent trouble with a cold or pain, but overall, he has not declined nor improved. He was dropped by his hospice service, due to his lack of decline. Subsequently, he is back with his previous family physician, which is trying to secure steady home health care for my dad. Dad still has one company that is visiting 5 times a week, but until a second company is added, mom has taken over dad’s daily changing and general hygienic care.

Mom: Mom’s been slowly improving since the last update. She has an appointment with her Oncologist on August 8th. This is a follow-up exam with blood work. She is not schedule for a PET scan anytime soon. Her appetite is improving and the range of foods she can tolerate/consume is ever-growing. Overall, mom is doing quite well, especially considering what all she has gone through the past several years.

Jacob: I am currently conducting research at the UGA-Griffin Campus. I am set to move to Athens the first two weeks of August. I will begin classes in Athens on August 15th. So far, my research has gone very well and I am excited to be back in Athens soon. I am also scheduled for a visit at Emory on August 8th. I have my 3-year follow-up appointment with my Cardiologist. I am scheduled for an EKG, echocardiogram, and blood work. All in all, I am quite busy,  but doing very well.

Josiah: Josiah is preparing to begin his 12th grade school work. He is also gearing up for his final football season with CrossPointe Christian Academy. Josiah remains employed at Chick-Fil-A. He remains healthy and is doing well with his endeavors.

Hannah: Hannah continues to be the go-to person around the house. She is a huge help with my mom and dad’s health care. She is in the 8th grade and is progressing well. She recently went for her first small airplane ride for her birthday, and I am told, thoroughly enjoyed it.

As you are likely aware, our family van was totaled in February. We have been utilizing my car for all of our transportation needs since then, but as I prepare to move to Athens, I am planning on taking my car with me. As such, my family is in serious need of a vehicle. My mom has been offered a part-time paid position in Fayetteville that will require her to drive there twice a month. As it stands now, we have no transportation options for her after I leave in August. We were able to “junk” the van and get a small sum, but the amount we were able to get was in no way adequate for a replacement. If you or someone you know can help with a vehicle, please either call me (404.981.5253) or my mom (678.603.2658). Or send us an e-mail (jbh301@gmail.com). We really don’t have any money to purchase a vehicle at this time, but we are believing for God to provide.

We are also looking for cheaper housing for 2012. Our lease ends at the end of this year and we would really like to maximize our spending by lowering our rental costs. If you are aware of a 3 bedroom/2 bath house, please let us know.

I am currently revising our monthly budget and should have that uploaded before I leave for Athens. I appreciate your continued support for my family and your patience with me.

That should about do it with bringing you all up to speed on my family. Thank you for your prayers, support, and continued friendship. You all mean the world to us.

Jacob

This entry was posted in Bishop John, Elaine, Financial Situation, Jacob, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to July 2011 Update

  1. jared says:

    Forgot us. 🙂

Leave a comment